Homepage

Digital Photo Library

The Photo Library of the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz is one of the most important academic photo archives in the world for research into Italian art and architecture from the Late Antiquity to the modern day, with a focus on Middle and Upper Italy. Part of the photo archive, which has been growing since 1897 and currently contains 614.000 photographs, is also available online. A quarter of the inventory has already been academically catalogued in HiDA-MIDAS (see Image Index for Art and Architecture).

The digital inventory of the Photo Library comprises the negatives digitalised by the institute and digital photographs, which are subject to KHI copyright. The Digital Photo Library provides high-resolution pictures in optimum quality for academic purposes.

The content of the Digital Photo Library is subject to protection in accordance with German copyright law and to restricted use. In using this site, you are agreeing to comply with the terms of use:

  • Reproductions, for example, copies and printouts, are permitted only for private use or for use in public lectures and teaching in schools, universities, and other educational institutions.
  • The production and distribution of reproductions, including those in academic journals, is permitted only with the express written permission of the KHI in Florence.
  • The permission of the trustees of a work of art may be required under Italian law. The user of the reproduction is solely responsible for obtaining this permission. The KHI does not guarantee that it can assist with contacting the trustees of the work of art in question.

Individual collections

The Individual Collections incorporate selected fields of the holdings of the Digital Photo Library as historical photographs (e. g. Cimelia Photographica), special photo campaigns (e. g. Boboli Garden, Georgia) or the print collection of the Photo Library. The pre-selection of an Individual Collection allows a detailed search within this particular section.

Georgia

As part of the “Medieval Georgia in a Cross-Cultural Perspective” project, Dror Maayan completed a photo campaign for the KHI in Georgia in 2006. As a result, we now possess a unique set of documentation of the medieval monuments of this cultural landscape. A significant set of more than one thousand photos can already be consulted in the Digital Photo Library. The Georgia campaign forms the first “photo island” that expands the inventory of the Photo Library beyond the boundaries of Italian art history.


Fondo Hilde Lotz-Bauer

In her work, Hilde Lotz-Bauer (1907-1999) unites the views of the art historian and the professional photographer. The photographs that she took between 1939 and 1943 in Florence document the condition of many monuments before their destruction in the Second World War. Her photographs of Tuscan Renaissance sculpture were commissioned by the then director of the institute, Friedrich Kriegbaum.


Fondo Mario Polesel

The collection of more than 1400 photographs were taken between 1990 and 2010 by the photographer Mario Polesel for the art historian Ann Markham-Schulz in the framework of her research project about Renaissance sculpture in Venice, the Veneto and Croatia. For her studies, the US scholar, renowned as one of the specialists in the field, also documents in her work numerous lesser known works of arts, which include 400 wooden crucifixes. The presentation of this material in the Photo Library offers the possibility to consult it, making it available for future research.


Print Collection of the Photo Library

The “collection of illustrations suitable for comparative studies”, which formed the origins of today’s Photo Library in 1897, includes not only photographic material but also engravings and prints. The collection of more than one thousand prints is stored separately as Rariora to protect and preserve it. The prints are gradually being digitalised with high resolution and transferred to the Digital Photo Library for the purposes of academic consultation.


Boboli Gardens

The Boboli Gardens are an integral part of the Palazzo Pitti complex in Florence. Work on the garden began in 1549 in close coordination with the work of transforming the Palazzo Pitti into the grand-ducal residence, as initiated by Cosimo I. But a series of enlargements and reorganizations periodically remodelled the Gardens also in the following centuries. Some of these interventions comprised the installation of statues and sculptures, both antique and modern, in fountains, along the ilex-walks, in grottoes and elsewhere in the park. The result is that the Gardens remain to this day an extraordinary open-air gallery of sculptures, which the Photo Library of the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence, in liaison with the Administration of the Boboli Gardens, began to document in 2008.


Cimelia Photographica

Historical photographs from earlier than 1900 have a source value above and beyond their documentary intention and, therefore, they have to be considered not only as research tools but also research objects. The Cimelia Photographica project started off the systematic study of our significant historical holdings (c. 1850-1900). This study includes the high-resolution digitalization of all the photographic mounts. This way not only are the photographs themselves recorded, but also the traces that their archiving history has left behind.


Palazzo Grifoni

The Palazzo Grifoni on the Piazza Santissima Annunziata is an outstanding example of Florentine palace architecture of the Renaissance. Ugolino Grifoni, secretary of the Grand-Duke of Tuscany Cosimo I, commissioned the architect Bartolomeo Ammannati to build it between 1561 and 1564. The Budini Gattai family, which acquired the building in 1890, then proceeded to a total renovation of its interior. The lavishly decorated and frescoed rooms on the piano nobile are among the most important, and at the same time best preserved, examples of upper-middleclass interior decoration in Florence at the turn of the century. The photographic campaign, conducted before the Photo Library moved into its new home (January 2010), comprehensively documents for the first time the decoration of the Budini Gattai apartments and at the same time places them at the centre of scientific interest. A photographic documentation of the architecture by Ammannati will follow.


Casa Zuccari

The house of Federico Zuccari (1540-1609) was handed over to the Kunsthistorisches Institute in Florence in 1987. It has accommodated the institute’s offices and event rooms since 2005. The building and its fittings should embody the standing of the painter within Florentine society. The frescoes in this artist’s house are documented in full and accessible in the Digital Photo Library.

Startseite

Digitale Photothek

Die Photothek des Kunsthistorischen Instituts in Florenz ist eines der weltweit wichtigsten wissenschaftlichen Fotoarchive für die Erforschung italienischer Kunst und Architektur von der Spätantike bis zur Gegenwart mit Schwerpunkt in Mittel- und Oberitalien. Ein Teil des seit 1897 stetig wachsenden Fotoarchivs (zurzeit 614.000 Fotografien) ist auch online verfügbar. Ein Viertel des Bestandes ist bereits in HiDA-MIDAS wissenschaftlich katalogisiert (s. Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur).

Der digitale Bestand der Photothek setzt sich aus digitalisierten hauseigenen Negativen und Digitalfotografien zusammen, die unter KHI-Copyright stehen. Die Digitale Photothek bietet hochauflösende Bilder in optimaler Qualität zu wissenschaftlichen Zwecken an.

Die Inhalte der Digitalen Photothek unterliegen dem Schutz durch das deutsche Urheberrecht und einer beschränkten Nutzung. Mit der Benutzung verpflichten Sie sich, diese Nutzungsbestimmungen einzuhalten:

  • Reproduktionen, z. B. Kopien und Ausdrucke, dürfen nur zum privaten Gebrauch sowie zum Gebrauch in öffentlichen Vorträgen und in Lehrveranstaltungen an Schulen, Universitäten und anderen Bildungseinrichtungen angefertigt werden.
  • Die Herstellung und Verbreitung von Reproduktionen, auch in wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen, ist nur mit ausdrücklicher schriftlicher Genehmigung des KHI in Florenz gestattet.
  • Nach italienischem Recht kann für eine Reproduktion die Genehmigung des Verwalters des Kunstwerks notwendig sein. Die Verantwortung für das Einholen dieser Genehmigung liegt beim Verwender der Reproduktion. Das KHI übernimmt keine Gewähr für die Herstellung des Kontaktes zum Verwalter des Kunstwerks.

Teilbestände

Die Teilbestände umfassen ausgewählte Sammlungsbereiche der Digitalen Photothek wie historische Fotografien (z. B. Cimelia Photographica), besondere Fotokampagnen (z. B. Boboli Garten, Georgien) oder die Graphiksammlung der Photothek. Durch die Vorauswahl eines Teilbestandes ist eine detaillierte Suche innerhalb der jeweiligen Sammlung möglich.

Georgien

Im Rahmen des Projekts „Medieval Georgia in a Cross-Cultural Perspective“ hat Dror Maayan 2006 für das KHI eine Fotokampagne in Georgien realisiert. Damit liegt heute eine einzigartige Dokumentation der mittelalterlichen Monumente dieser Kunstlandschaft vor. Ein beträchtliches Konvolut an bereits über tausend Fotos ist in der Digitalen Photothek konsultierbar. Die Georgienkampagne bildet die erste „Bilderinsel“, die die Bestände der Photothek über die Grenzen der italienischen Kunstgeschichte hinaus erweitert.


Fondo Hilde Lotz-Bauer

Hilde Lotz-Bauer (1907-1999) vereint in ihrem Werk die Sichtweisen der Kunsthistorikerin und der professionellen Fotografin. Die Fotografien, die sie zwischen 1939 und 1943 in Florenz angefertigt hatte, dokumentieren den Zustand vieler Denkmäler vor den Zerstörungen im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Ihre Aufnahmen zur toskanischen Renaissanceskulptur entstanden im Auftrag des damaligen Institutsdirektors Friedrich Kriegbaum.


Fondo Mario Polesel

Die mehr als 1.400 Aufnahmen des Fotografen Mario Polesel entstanden zwischen 1990 und 2010 im Rahmen der wissenschaftlichen Recherchen der Kunsthistorikerin Anne Markham-Schulz zur Skulptur der Renaissance in Venedig, dem Veneto und Kroatien. Die US-amerikanische Autorin gilt als ausgewiesene Expertin auf diesem Gebiet und ließ für ihre Arbeit auch viele weniger bekannte Kunstwerke aufnehmen, darunter knapp 400 Holzkruzifixe, die durch die Präsentation in der Digitalen Photothek auch für andere Forschungen konsultierbar gemacht werden.


Druckgraphik Photothek

Zur „Sammlung von zu vergleichenden Studien geeigneten Abbildungen“, die 1897 den Ursprung der heutigen Photothek bildete, gehören neben Fotomaterial auch Stiche und Drucke. Die über tausend Blätter werden aus konservatorischen Gründen als Rariora separat aufbewahrt. Zur wissenschaftlichen Konsultation wird die Druckgraphik hochauflösend digitalisiert und schrittweise in die Digitale Photothek überführt.


Boboli-Garten

Der Boboli-Garten ist Teil des weitläufigen Komplexes des Palazzo Pitti in Florenz. Mit seiner Anlage wurde 1549 begonnen, als Cosimo I. den Palast zur großherzoglichen Residenz ausbauen ließ. Im Verlauf der nachfolgenden Jahrhunderte erfuhr er zahlreiche Erweiterungen und Umgestaltungen, die nicht zuletzt auch die Aufstellung sowohl antiker als auch moderner Skulpturen entlang der Alleen, an den Brunnen, in den Grotten und an anderen Orten vorsah. Noch heute stellt der Garten eine beeindruckende Skulpturensammlung unter freiem Himmel dar. 2008 begann die Photothek des Kunsthistorischen Instituts in Florenz mit Unterstützung der Direktion des Boboli-Gartens diese zu dokumentieren.


Cimelia Photographica

Historische Fotografien vor 1900 besitzen einen über ihre dokumentarische Intention weit hinausreichenden Quellenwert und stellen daher nicht nur Werkzeuge, sondern auch Objekte der Forschung dar. Mit dem Projekt Cimelia Photographica hat die systematische Aufarbeitung unseres bedeutenden historischen Bestandes (c. 1850-1900) begonnen. Hierzu gehört die hochauflösende Digitalisierung der gesamten Fotokartons. So werden nicht nur die Fotografien selbst erfasst, sondern auch jene Spuren, welche ihre Archivierungsgeschichte dort hinterlassen hat.


Palazzo Grifoni

Der Palazzo Grifoni an der Piazza Santissima Annunziata ist ein bedeutendes Beispiel Florentiner Palastarchitektur der Renaissance. Ugolino Grifoni, Sekretär des Großherzogs der Toskana Cosimo I., ließ ihn zwischen 1561 und 1565 durch Bartolomeo Ammannati errichten. 1890 wurde der Palast von der Familie Budini Gattai erworben, die seine Innenräume vollständig umbauen und ausstatten ließ. Das aufwendig dekorierte und freskierte Piano nobile gehört zu den bedeutendsten und zugleich besterhaltenen Zeugnissen hochbürgerlicher Repräsentationskultur in Florenz um 1900. Die Fotokampagne, die vor dem Einzug der Photothek in den Palazzo im Januar 2010 realisiert wurde, dokumentiert zum ersten Mal umfassend die Ausstattung des Appartements Budini Gattai und rückt sie zugleich ins Zentrum des wissenschaftlichen Interesses. Die Dokumentation soll durch Architekturaufnahmen des Ammannati-Palastes vervollständigt werden.


Casa Zuccari

Das Haus Federico Zuccaris (1540-1609) wurde 1987 dem Kunsthistorischen Institut in Florenz übergeben. Hier befinden sich seit 2005 Büros und Veranstaltungsräume des Instituts. Das Gebäude und seine Ausstattung sollten dem Rang des Malers innerhalb der florentinischen Gesellschaft Ausdruck verleihen. Die Fresken dieses Küstlerhauses sind vollständig dokumentiert und in der Digitalen Photothek zugänglich gemacht.