font-awesome-load
material-design-icons-load

The Flood of 1966

Greeting

The Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence, which was founded in 1897, has been heavily involved in the events which have unfolded in the city on the Arno during the last century. Thus it, too, was struck by the catastrophic flood which rampaged through the city on 4th November 1966. The Institute felt the full force of the deluge, its headquarters in the Via Giusti inundated by water which rose to over one metre, although the damage was mitigated by the rapid intervention of employees and friends who transported the books to the building’s upper storeys. It was, simultaneously, able to complete an important task in terms of the event’s documentation: in 1975 the photo library acquired the Fondo Bazzechi. The majority of the exhibition’s 80 photographs, taken by Ivo Bazzechi, date from the dramatic days following the flood.

The exhibition in the Kunsthistorisches Institut documents the flood’s immediate aftermath and the ramifications for the city and its artistic treasures. The first section depicts the damage and destruction suffered by the works of art themselves. The second selection illustrates the devastation of the city and its streets, alleys, squares and houses.

The presentation, which arose from the digitalisation projects carried out by the photo library of the Kunsthistorisches Institut, is simultaneously the first ever online exhibition. The sheer value of this documentary photography, with its illimitable benefits for specialists, becomes clear during an observation of its object, the flood it illustrates. It will become a part of the city’s visible memory, which can be viewed and enjoyed outside the libraries, photographic libraries and archives thanks to the new technical resources.

Gerhard Wolf



© KHI in Florence | 15.11.2019 13:25:44

Die Flut 1966

Grußwort

Das Kunsthistorische Institut, gegründet 1897, hat in den letzten hundert Jahren intensiv an den Ereignissen der Stadt am Arno teilgenommen. So war es gleichfalls von der katastrophalen Flut am 4. November 1966 betroffen. Sein Sitz in der Via Giusti wurde bis zu einer Höhe von ca. zwei Metern überflutet. Jedoch konnten die Schäden dank eines schnellen Eingreifens der Mitarbeiter und Freunde begrenzt werden, die die Bücher in die höher gelegenen Stockwerke brachten. Zugleich erfüllt das Institut die wichtige Aufgabe der Dokumentation des Ereignisses: 1975 erwarb die Photothek den Fondo Bazzechi, aus dem der größte Teil der circa 80 hier gezeigten Fotografien stammt. Sie sind direkt in den dramatischen Tage der Flut von dem Fotografen Ivo Bazzechi gemacht worden waren.

Die Ausstellung des Kunsthistorischen Instituts dokumentiert die unmittelbaren Folgen der Flut für die Stadt und für ihre Kunstschätze. Die erste Sektion zeigt die Schäden und die Zerstörungen der Kunstwerke. Die zweite Sektion illustriert die Verwüstungen der Stadt, der Straßen, Gassen, Plätze und Häuser.

Die Präsentation, die aus den Digitalisierungsprojekten der Photothek des Kunsthistorischen Instituts erwächst, ist die erste Online-Ausstellung. Anhand der Fotografien zur Flut wird der Wert der Dokumentarfotografie deutlich, der sich nicht im Nutzen für Fachleute erschöpft. Sie wird Teil des visuellen Gedächtnisses der Stadt, da sie dank der neuen technischen Möglichkeiten ebenfalls außerhalb der Bibliotheken, Fototheken und Archive zugänglich ist.

Gerhard Wolf



© KHI in Florenz | 18.10.2017 11:24:04